Friday, January 20, 2006

The Low Carbon MPs

These are the committee members of the All-Party Parliamentary Climate Change Group, referred to a couple of posts down, to contrast with the Pro-Nuclear Group.

Notice they have no trade association behind them and claim no perks. Former DTI minister Byers is amongst them, as is Tim Yeo, former Tory Environment Minister. Significantly, no members of this anti-climate change group are also in the pro-nuclear group.
Purpose: To raise awareness of the threat of climate change and to promote policies which counter that threat.


  • Chair: Colin Challen (Lab)
  • Vice-Chairs: Lord Beaumont of Whitley (Green), Lord Redesdale (LD)
  • Treasurer: Peter Ainsworth (Con)
  • Secretary: Dr Desmond Turner (Lab)

20 qualifying members:

  • Colin Challen
  • Stephen Byers
  • David Chaytor
  • Mark Lazarowicz
  • Janet Dean
  • Dr Ian Gibson
  • Nia Griffith
  • Kelvin Hopkins
  • Dr Desmond Turner
  • Dr Alan Whitehead
  • Peter Ainsworth
  • Lord Crickhowell
  • David Curry
  • Lord Renton of Mount Harry
  • Bill Wiggin
  • Tim Yeo
  • Norman Baker (LD)
  • Lord Beaumont of Whitley (Green)
  • Lord Redesdale (LD)
  • Mike Weir (SNP)
Contact details for correspondence and general enquiries about the group: Mr Colin Challen MP, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA. Tel: 020 7219 8260

Benefits received by group from sources outside parliament: None.

Paid employment outside parliament of staff who hold a parliamentary pass: None.

Date of group's last registered annual general meeting: 29 June 2005

Category of group: On Approved List; All-Party Parliamentary Subject Group.

>> Parliament list

No comments: